Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

Mikuragi

leave a comment »

My Dearest Ones,

This morning I woke up after 4 hours of sleep, I tried unsuccessfully to sneak past my hostess and the five small children who were playing in the common room. She gave me a breakfast of rice and beef with little fried fishies, then thrusted two cobs of corn on me to take for second breakfast. Then I went exploring the Seoksu Market to see what was up.

I’ve drunk more soju in the past 24 hours than in my entire life and somehow avoided holding the microphone during a 3 am karaoke bash.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss my full-sized Egyptian cotton bath towels and 1000 thread-count sheets and air-conditioning. I’d be fibbing if I told you I enjoyed being functionally illiterate. but somehow sitting in this room full of artists from all over the world listening to a presentation in Japanese and then Korean and then a translation for us Westerners is exhilarating. Our translator is using English words but not speaking English.

I will tell you about yesterday when I have more time tonight.

Kisses,

Elaine

Written by etinnyo

August 8, 2008 at 6:23 am

Posted in Korea

Leave a Reply

