Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

Post Holiday Report

leave a comment »

I have been on photo vacation. So there are no pictures of the scalloped oysters or grilled hens from Christmas Eve dinner, nor my mother’s mohinga, a Burmese fish soup, that has become a family tradition on Christmas day. There are no pictures of the ball dropping because I did not watch the ball drop this year. This year I went to Jeff and Jude’s house for a Vampire Dinner Party.
I have no pictures of Jeff’s hairdo, a deranged and desperate attempt at replicating Gary Oldman’s coif in Dracula.  Nor do I have pictures of the virgin in her flowing white night gown who was invited to our vampire lair. We began the night with 1794 cocktails. There was an unexpected amuse bouche during cocktails when my glass broke and nicked my hand. Several of denizens of the night tended to my wound while Nosferatu played on the video screen. Someone else might have a picture of that. We supped on wine glasses of beet and porcini consommé then poached lobster and steak tartar. We finished with a blood orange sorbet and an array of gorgeous chocolates. It was then that the plans for Pirate Easter were hatched. By then Nosferatu was replaced by Bram Stoker’s Dracula and we were able to do a side-by-side comparison to Jeff’s hair. If only you had been there.
I will resume picture-taking soon. Meantime I wish you only good spirits and much pleasure in 2009.

Written by etinnyo

January 2, 2009 at 3:45 am

Leave a Reply

