Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

RENT is a FOUR LTTR WORD

leave a comment »

RENT party

hard times need good parties
NEW DATE: Saturday, March 28, after 9 pm
img_0098_2
To prepare for my piece FOOD and FAKE FOOD* I must make several edible prototypes in the next few weeks. 
These CAKEs, TARTs, PIES, BACI, RICE BALLs, MEAT and PONE will need to be consumed.  
MENU, TIME and SITE will be sent to you, if  you RSVP.
Hope you can make it.
xxox,
Elaine
*FOOD and FAKE FOOD is a component of CAFÉ at the Phillips Collection beginning on May 7. 2009

 

There has been some confusion about the nature of the party so I have provided a FAQ Sheet.

Rent Party FAQ

Q: Is the party in Harlem?
A: Yes, the party is at my home in Harlem.

Q: Will only sweets be served?
A: No, I will be preparing a variety of savory offerings as well. Also on hand will be beverages such as coffee, gin and moonshine.

Q: What can I bring?
A: Bring friends. Bring cash or bring gin or moonshine. Bring on the party. 

Q: What is PONE?
A: It was originally a bread made by Native Americans from flat cakes of cornmeal dough baked in ashes. It is often referred to as cornpone.

Q: Why must I RSVP?
A: The courtesy of your reply will allow me to figure out how many PONE to make. It will also allow me to make a guest list for the doorman.  

Q: What other bonuses will my RSVP earn?
A: If you RSVP, I will send you a schedule of what will be served when. That way you will not miss the LAMB or CAKE or PONE. I will also provide my address.

 

Q: What is a Rent Party anyway?
A: Rent Parties are a phenomenon that had its heyday in the Depression Era Harlem. A household throws a party and “passes the hat” amongst the guests to pay for expenses. Rent parties enjoyed a resurgence in popularity in the late 70’s and early 80’s amongst college students after the TV series, Good Times aired an episode entitled The Rent Party.

Q: Can I bring guests?
A: Bring friends. Bring cash or booze. Bring on the party. 

Q: Will there be gambling and debauchery?
A: Only the PONE knows the answer to that.

Q: Elaine, are you okay?
A: Yes, I must say, I haven’t been happier in my life.

Written by etinnyo

March 16, 2009 at 3:25 am

Posted in Food, Holidays, New York

Leave a Reply

