Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

Cake

leave a comment »

I was nervous, so I called Detroit. When I said to John, “They want a six-tier cake to serve 100 people,” he voiced my unnamed fear:

Dunce cap?

“Won’t it look like a dunce cap?”

Damn him. Nobody wants to make a dunce cap wedding cake. Especially for the marriage of the best match I’ve seen in years. I piled and re-piled cake pans to get the right proportions, first in cake stores, then in my kitchen, while the Black Hello Kitty (my kitchen god) looked on.

Despite Hurricane Bill and the crazy wind storm (that I blame for the dearth of fresh currants in what should be the height of their season–I bought the last two baskets at the Farmer’s Market), the unrelenting heat in my sun-baked apartment, and the detour the car service took between Harlem and Williamsburg (to ensure that we hit every pothole possible), somehow a wedding happened and a cake happened and I danced my ass off to celebrate the marriage of two of my favorite people.

Chocolate-Amaretto Cake with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Buttercream Frosting (fresh roses and currants)

DSCF6186_2

DSCF6191

Written by etinnyo

August 26, 2009 at 12:32 am

Posted in Food, Holidays, New York

Leave a Reply

