Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

When it snows it pours.

leave a comment »

When it snows it pours.

Normally at this time of year, I’d be making gingerbread pigs to send to my friends, and stained glass cookie ornaments to hang in my window. Then a couple days before Christmas, my niece and nephews would spend a few hours drawing up plans, and we would make a gingerbread structure. One year it was a train station with a train, another year a gingerbread mermaid castle complete with a swimming pool. But not this year.

This year I find myself pushing hundreds chandelier parts into food safe silicone plastique to make a crystal chandelier out of candy. I hope this is gonna work. I keep running out of plastique. On Monday, Chef Jae and I start pouring the candy crystals. Keep your fingers crossed for me. It will be on view in January at Josee Bienvenu Gallery.

Normally at this time of year, I’d be drinking a holiday cocktail and showing off my new red suede platform ankle boots at a party or two. But it’s snowing and snow is not a friend to suede.

But this year, I find myself getting calls from ice fishermen who have cast iron stoves for sale. I’m wondering if I Santa will give me snowshoes or a solar power pack for my month on the ice. He knows that I have been both naughty and nice. Unrepentantly naughty but in the nicest way possible.

Let it snow.

Written by etinnyo

December 20, 2009 at 1:26 pm

Posted in Food, Holidays, New York

Leave a Reply

