Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

The Riblets

leave a comment »

P1030434

“What else should I try?” I asked my friend behind the counter. He looked at me like I had asked him in Klingon. Then I smiled and he realized it was a friendly question.

“Try this lady. Very best.” By then my companion had already completed his transaction and was poking at the tub of pickled cabbage heads sitting on the floor. He spun around to see my new friend holding aloft a narrow strip of smoked riblets, as long as my torso.

“Yes!” I said.

I added half of these to a white bean and potato soup which served me handily for four lunches.

***

White Bean and Potato Soup

Rinse 1 can of cannellini beans and put them in a pot. Cover them with a couple cans of water and some white wine. Bring to boil. Then add two diced potatoes. Cut apart six smoked riblets and add them too. Add more water if needed. Let this simmer until the beans and potatoes are very soft. Add two healthy forkfuls of sauerkraut and some leftover dessert wine. Simmer a little longer until the meat is soft and pulls away easily from the bone. Add more water to keep it soupy. It’s nice accompanied by rosemary croutons or pumpernickel toasts.

Written by etinnyo

January 21, 2013 at 8:51 am

Leave a Reply

