Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

Queen for a Day

with 2 comments

IMG_1043_2

My dentist calls it a crown but I like to think of it as a “Tooth Tiara.” Whatever you choose to call it, I was fitted for one on Tuesday morning.

20130703-121104.jpg

Word of Monday’s pie had already spread from Dr S. to Dr Phyllis along the dental grapevine. After I picked out my diamond and ruby studded gold tooth tiara, we all celebrated with pie. Eva assisted me in serving the pie. Millie answered phones between bites of pie and recounting highlights of various Dancing with the Stars contestants. Dr. Phyllis found it hard to believe that Neil Armstrong had been a contestant. None of us bothered to ask the Google; we were too busy eating pie.

P1040218

After my office hours, the pie met Michael (not that Michael) for herring and oysters at Grand Central Station. It waited patiently while we had two rounds of oysters and one round of stout. The Lady Chatterly from Nova Scotia won the oyster tasting.

P1040227

The rest of the pie–just about two slices–came with me on Wednesday morning to Lenox Hill for a couple of MRIs. Nicole, the radiology tech had a slice. I had the final slice on a bench in Central Park as a reward for being such a good girl.

20130703-132659.jpg

Written by etinnyo

July 3, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Posted in Art, Food, New York, Pie

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So happy your ruby and diamond tiara didn’t get in the way of scrumptiousness, pie-wise I mean.

    Terry

    July 3, 2013 at 6:08 pm

  2. I think I know who your dentist is!
    Hope the headaches have subsided.
    xo

    Elizabeth

    July 3, 2013 at 8:26 pm


Leave a Reply

