Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

Walk Of Shame Waffles

leave a comment »

photo-2

The original recipe I was trying to make came in my waffle maker’s recipe booklet. It was called “Good Night Waffles” because most of the ingredients of the batter are combined and left to ferment the night before. I developed this variation recipe because I found I had no regular all purpose flour when I was assembling the batter (and of course it was rather late and I was damned if I was going to change out of my pajamas to run to the corner store). So instead, I substituted what I had, brown rice flour and cake flour for all purpose flour. My poor planning and laziness really paid off the morning after.

Walk of Shame Waffles

Makes 8 waffles
1/3 cup lukewarm water
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast
2 cups whole milk (lukewarm)
1/2 cup melted butter
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup brown rice flour
1 1/4 cup cake flour
2-3 large eggs. lightly beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon baking soda

photo-2 -2The night before, combine the warm water, sugar and yeast. Proof for 10 minutes. Stir in warm milk, butter and salt. Beat in the flours until smooth. Cover the bowl (make sure it’s a large bowl) with plastic wrap and let stand at room temperature overnight. Do not refrigerate.

When ready to bake, preheat your waffle iron (I use an electric Belgian waffle maker that flips). While it’s heating, mix in the eggs, vanilla and baking soda. The batter will be like thin pancake batter. Pour into the hot waffle, shut the lid and flip immediately. Cook until done. If your waffler doesn’t have an doneness indicator, watch for when it stops steaming. then check it. The waffles should be golden brown, lacy and crisp.

Notes:

The sour dough quality of the batter is similar to blinis so it is excellent with savory toppings (omit the vanilla extract).

Any leftover batter can be refrigerated for up to 3 days. Just give it a good stir before you pour it in the waffle maker.
Written by etinnyo

April 13, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Posted in Food, New York, recipe

Leave a Reply

