Nothing Happened Today

postcards home

Some Round Red Things

leave a comment »

IMG_9217

On my first lucid day back in New York, I went down to the Union Square Farmers Market. I had abandoned hope of finding cherries. All indications were that the season was over. But there they were: the elusive sour cherry that had eluded me the entire time I was in Italy. Bright red almost translucent, succulent beyond compare, tart tart tart: the sour cherry. I bought as much as I could sanely carry on my other errands: eight quarts. The farmer was so surprised at my enthusiasm that he threw in two cups of raspberries. I had already bought fish and other produce. I stumbled 15 blocks all semblance of dignity lost, like a cherry-crazed bag lady. But it was worth it. The cherries forgave me. They waited for me to come home to them.

There will be pie.

Written by etinnyo

July 18, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Posted in Food, New York, Pie

Leave a Reply

